[Review] Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

Kotbp Banner

Hi, everyone!

Here it is! Check out my review for the epic fantasy finale to the Rise of the Empress. If this book isn’t yet in your reading list, you should definitely add it right now. Available in all bookstore near you even online bookstore.

You can read my review for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns here. And see how I come to love this from the start.

This is the last stop (day) of the blog tour. Hope you enjoy and read our thoughts about this book. Thank you so much!

Don’t forget to join the giveaway below and you might win a proof copy of the book.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix--

goodreads-button

Disclosure: *I received an advance reading copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review and don’t mean to affect how I will read nor give my opinion about it. My opinion is mine and mine alone after reading the book. Thank you, Erika @ The Nocturnal Fay & Rafael @ The Royal Polar Bear Reads for having me in this blog tour and to Penguin Random House International for the provided copies.

Synopsis

This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to the Rise of the Empress novels.

Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.

Grab a copy: Amazon || Book Depository || Barnes & Noble || National Book Store (TP) || National Book Store (HB) || Kobo || iBooks

Review

Xifeng. Serpent God. Fortune Telling.

Jade. Dragon King. Tales.

**

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is exquisitely devouring and intricately captivating from the opening until the last – bite. To think this book can be standalone which even you don’t read the first one you can still clutch with the story though there are some references from Forest of a Thousand Lanterns – the first book of the Rising Empress duology which you still definitely read first. Both books contributed to the exhilarating plot actually, from the reimagined Evil Queen perspective to the reimagined Snow White standpoint. There are blatant gruesome and bloody counterparts with the familiar scene from the classic tale but your palate of liking will adapt to it once you start feasting everything about it. As I said this is something out of the ordinary reimagined tale as its exposed over-wickedness and gory scenic parts – you’ll get a clue if you read the first book.

Entirely, the book is maleficent-ly wicked with how Empress Xifeng did her evil deeds and agendas and epically created with how the mission given to Jade will help her succeed through the guidance of her ancestor’s tales. This is the final journey on rising as an Empress but this time a blessed heart will reign in the throne.

You’ll have an undeniably fantastic ride in reading this Asian-inspired retelling with out-of-the-myth magic, style, and characters. The way how this book ended is satisfyingly beautiful and well, I guess, goodness always wins over evilness. Also, fortune doesn’t always what dictates your path, sometimes it’s your own perseverance that will show your purpose. One of the so many lessons to be earned from this book.

Rating

rate-5

About the Author

Julie C. DaoJulie Dao



Goodreads FacebookIcon TwitterIcon InstagramIcon

juliedao.com

Julie C. Dao is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college, but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night, she wrote books about heroines unafraid to fight for their dreams, which inspired her to follow her passion of becoming a published author. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is her debut novel. Julie lives in New England.


Blog Tour Schedule

November 5th

Erika – The Nocturnal Fey (Review)

Rafael – The Royal Polar Bear Reads (Review)

Soleil – Queen Soleil (Review)

November 6th

Jennilyn – Rurouni Jenni Reads (Review)

Erica Mae – Living a Hundred Lives (Review)

Jen – Jen D Bibliophile (Promo post)

November 7th

Camille – Camillea Reads (Review)

Bianca – The Ultimate Fangirl (Review)

Vivian – Vanilla Angel Pages (Promo post)

November 8th

Myrth – Cliste Bella (Review)

Jenny – Levicorpvs Blog (Review)

Dani – dmcireads (Promo post)

November 9th

Shaine – Wanderer in Neverland (Review)

Leslie – Bibliophilekid (Review)

November 10th

Joel – Descendant of Poseidon Reads (Review)

Jon – Wander with Jon (Review)

Karina – Afire Pages (Promo Post)

Giveaway

Win a proof copy of Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao (PH ONLY)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thank you for reading!

Joel


Goodreads FacebookIcon TwitterIcon InstagramIcon

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “[Review] Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

  1. […] 10thJoel – Descendant of Poseidon Reads (Review)Jon – Wander with Jon (Review)Karina – Afire Pages (Promo […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.