[Blog Tour Review] Warcross by Marie Lu

Book Review (WML) Photo - New

goodreads-button

Disclosure: I got a physical ARC of this book as a blog tour participant. All the opinions view here are mine and mine alone only. Thank you @ Penguin Random House International – G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers and Rafael @theroyalpolarbearreads for hosting this tour and making me a part of it.



 

blurb-label

-o-

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

-o-

review-label

Fans of Sword Art Online and Ready Player One will be in awe the instant they got this book into their hands. I, myself, can’t hold the feelings after reading the whole transmission happening in and out the game within this book. Brainstorming something like this to put all together, I know is a lot of pressure to take knowing you must be in some kind of simulation to sync every aspect of the information. The imagination you need to develop this kind of storyline must be vast and creative and unique, though the virtual reality is nothing to be new now as it is merely possible we can acquire something like that in the near future. Virtual reality, as we speak of it, is a kind of promise some of us might wish to already have nowadays. Warcross, as it drives us into something a virtual reality can be a sort of promising technology, is certainly the tool that specifies theoretical factors one VR could have more or less.

Warcross by Marie Lu, the game and the book of this era, is in no doubt something to look for. This book creates vivid pictures out of your mind in a world we humans are near on conquering which I think definitely on our way for us now. It’s so good. So fascinating read I have this year.

Honestly, I’m just programming this book into my mind as a game only that what I read is an introduction and guide texts and I’m the main character. Although, I was thinking of a guy version for Emika Chen and Hideo Tanaka as the opposite – I gender bend both of them. Both characters are well calibrated for this kind of story. More love I put for Emika as she trudged along the whole session as brave and strong. She is the badass heroine without the use of some kind of magic but just the skill she has and that’s why I adore her. The love affair that involves between them with Hideo, I think is a romance sideline that I appreciate to have in this book which gives some tingle sensation for the readers.

Marie Lu really did her best in forming this virtual realm of Warcross. This is my first book of her I have read so far and I cannot wait to indulge on other she has.

Through a series of chapter way closer to the end somehow I manage to expect the ending but not as calculated in perfect prediction – just a bit of. I’m not shocked though or I do, only not what a shock could be exaggerated. The anticipation is really a pulling magnet as the end ends, revealing what you hope to be but not closely. Throughout the book, one can always hope for more but that is where the exciting thing I guess for the story to continue and left the reader hangs in question in the last hour the book closes. So, I guess I wait for the next book to come.

Best advice I could give is that, if you give fascination in the idea of virtual reality or want to have some idea about it then give this a try. Also if you watch Sword Art Online as I do and read Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, you definitely read this book of Marie Lu. It will give you same vibes both two have given to me.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About the Author         

4342215Marie Lu

#1 New York Times bestselling author of Young Elites and Legend Trilogy.

I write young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Ironically, I was born in 1984. Before becoming a full-time writer, I was an Art Director at a video game company. Now I shuffle around at home and talk to myself a lot. 

I graduated from the University of Southern California in ’06 and currently live in LA, where I spend my time stuck on the freeways.


Giveaway Time

A Rafflecoper Giveaway


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here                                     

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “[Blog Tour Review] Warcross by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.