[Blog Tour Review] What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Book Review (WTSNJB) Photo - New

goodreads-button

Disclosure: I get this review copy as a blog tour participant for free in exchange for my honest review from the publisher itself. All the opinions view here are mine and mine alone only.Β 



Hello, Feaders!

Wash day! It came to be in our college every Wednesday – an out-of-uniform-you-can-wear-anything day – as long as it is in the dress code. Freedom for fashion or let’s say Fashion Day every this day.

Belated Happy Book Birthday to What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum! Hitting the shelves now. Go and grab your copy now.

I’m excited and glad to be part of this blog tour and I’m thankful I was chosen to be here. Thank you, Fay and Penguin Random House International for making this happen.

I’m scheduled today to give my review of this book together with others (same time). I have read What To Say Next last week so the draft for my review was secured and now, I’m happy to share it with you.

blurb-label

-o-

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT:Β I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID:Β In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. β€œSo your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.Β 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honestyβ€”in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

-o-

review-label

What To Say Next is my first book I’ve ever read from Julie Buxbaum’s works. Her other YA book, Tell Me Three Things is not yet on the list of my going-to-read books but after reading her latest, I will definitely sure read it next time and add it to my next read. It was her YA debut New York Times bestselling novel that I need to look forward. As I observed (just a random observation), Ms. Julie, I think, found a satisfaction on giving her YA books a 4-words title as her two books are. Sort of, always related to speaking or something like that. Anyway, I will give my overall thoughts about this book and how this book let me binge read it all night. Let’s begin.

In her recent book, Ms. Julie created an amazing mismatch duo of the two unique characters bound to meet in the same place at a lunch table. David Drucker, who always on his own track with his headphone on playing his ever ready playlist that cancels the noise from his surroundings (a reason not to bother to talk to anyone), never expected to have a close encounter with the girl right at his lunch table over his entire school days he invested at Mapleview High. Likewise, Kit Lowell, she is just as shocked as he is when she realized what lift of force she has done to think of sitting at this new-found table together with the boy she barely know – invisible in her existence. Apparently, this begins a blooming and growing relationship. Unknown for both of them what each can be embarked that might destroy their once nothing never planned meeting and put an end to what they just begin to rely on each other – the company they seek.

This sweet, charming lovable book was an additional attachment to my ever growing feelings when I read a great book like this. I can’t put it down the moment I started devouring it. It was one of the diverse books you will come to dive into its depths and you will really be going to be attached to it. I’m honestly am since I quite enjoyed the entire reading and I treasured the moment and experience. Love the characters – David and Kit. They both are perfect for each other. I found their chemistry cute and sweet. The story is really an interesting breakthroughΒ in every turn of the page.

The writing style was nice and smooth and the alternating POV between David and Kit as they take comfort on each side was perfect and suits the story. I like how that gives both the character their own perspective and I’m glad it was that way.

I thought I will just see a weird yet sweet relationship they become but I don’t expect the events that happened even that one to crush my soul for both of them. It was really an emotional wreckage that blows deep in the heart. Never think, it could happen to a person or never think people can smile out of it. Though it was given a chance to explain itself for the last couple of chapters and I feel relieved that was actually the reason. The ending just ended well and please.

This story also gives the idea of autism which I observed somehow for David but not at all since I don’t consider him to be that totally – just a normal kiddo. Actually, David is weird, a good weird, a smart yet funny in his witty talks that I came to love and sometimes dumb to say unnecessary. But that gives this story entertaining. His way of giving details very frankly and considering, it his flaw when uncontrollably not been handled properly. Still, I like his entire development all along the flow. Kit, on the other side, was good just that I don’t seem to like her πŸ™‚ She is pretty awesome though and I found her if in terms of a friend, the best to have on your side.

I can’t say more to this funny and heartbreaking story without spoiling you. All I can say when you see this book is you don’t think twice, grab this and read it. You will feel the way I feel or not – it is all yours how you think of it. I’m happy to recommend this book to you if you have the likes for Nicola Yoon works and an interesting Contemporary Romance YA book.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About the Author Β  Β  Β  Β Β 

Julie BuxbaumJulie Buxbaum

She is theΒ New York TimesΒ bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things, her young adult debut, and the critically acclaimed novels The Opposite of Love and After You.

Her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Julie’s writing has appeared in various publications, includingΒ The New York Times. She is a former lawyer and graduate of Harvard Law School and lives in Los Angeles with her husband, two young children, and an immortal goldfish.

Visit Julie online atΒ www.juliebuxbaum.comΒ and followΒ @juliebuxΒ on Twitter.


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β Β Β 

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

Leave a Reply

