[Review] Ascension by Hannah Rials

Book Review (AHR) Photo - New

goodreads-button



Hello, Feaders!

Taking this chance to say I was enrolled now to my current college under the same course with the same known classmates, though I might encounter some new faces since it is common that someone else retakes for his failed subject. As we call irregulars, but I don’t want to be mean if you’re so affected such that it can sometimes happen not just to me you know 🙂

Going back to today’s highlight, I’m done reading the book, Ascension by Hannah Rials which I have received as one of the gifts for me by Ms. Rebecca Flansburg – Thank you for giving me this and recommending that I have to read it.

Hear now my review about it.

blurb-label

-o-

Life is supposed to be perfect after Cheyenne Lane’s Ascension ceremony, but it turns out awakening her vampire half only complicates things more. Burdened with a patronizing family and constant surveillance by the Vampire Council, Cheyenne welcomes a summer vacation to the magical city of New Orleans.

But Cheyenne quickly realizes that she can’t escape her problems, no matter where she goes.

After seventeen years of fearing exposing her secret to humans, Cheyenne’s world is rocked when she starts to fall for a witch named Eli. When he shows Cheyenne how complex the world really is, she must accept that everything she thought she knew about being a Deuxsang is a lie.

As if all this isn’t problem enough, Cheyenne finds herself the pawn of a conspiracy hatched by those who should be protecting her. Her whole life Cheyenne is told what to believe and who to trust. Now, she’s forced to choose for herself who and what is right. No matter which choice she makes, it will cost her everything.

-o-

review-label

Narrated in the first point of view of a female heroine, Cheyenne, this book gives a vibe of a new rendition between vampire and human society focusing on their hybrid one which been introduced as Deuxsang in the novel. I haven’t read any book close to the plot just like this though I think I have, this book marks well in my mind. Speaking of Deuxsang, I appreciate the introduction the author, Hannah Rials takes. For me, as a reader, it will help how the event will flow smoothly and makes some little assumption on how the sets going to grow more. Expecting how the conflicts will matter in the midst of the book. But yeah, I seem like the unique name for the hybrid between vamps and human.

New Orleans as I obviously don’t still yet traveled over there or even touch the ground’s place was well described in the book even you can imagine how vintage looking the place is. The setting was really been thought of and I think been felt to suit really for the story. It was where most of the characters interest been circulating and I observed the music was kind of interesting hobby there since it was also been the skills the author accorded for some of the members.

This was a terrific read to say. Likely to want more of the sweet and tragic relationship between Cheyenne and Eli. They got to still show more in the story and I like both of them. Cheyenne for what I know started weakly but time move on as she develops the power with hers that confusingly makes her true self still in unknown strong and what danger she can be. Eli was kind of mystery same for Cheyenne. He will be doing a great part as a witch in love with the Deuxsang, Cheyenne.

Finally, I can’t say much for my fond love with the book but I’m rooted for the sequel. I fight the urge that I really need to wait for it to come and you too should check this out. Make it in your June TBR.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About Author             

Hannah RialsHannah Rials

She is a Maryville native and current college student at University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Hannah began writing her first novel at age twelve. Eight years later, the result is debut YA novel Ascension. When not spending time with her family and playing with her beloved Corgis, Buddy and Noel, Hannah leads a creative writing group, crafts, and cultivates her writing skills.

You can learn more about Hannah on her site: www.hannaherials.com and her Twitter, @Hannah_e_Rials.


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here                                     

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

Save

One thought on “[Review] Ascension by Hannah Rials

  1. Reblogged this on LAMS Comm -Virtual Assistant Services and commented:
    Awesome! Thanks so much for the review Joel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

