[Review] The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman by Brady Stefani

Book Review (TAOCHBS) Photo - New

goodreads-button

Disclosure: *I received a review copy of this book for free from the author itself in exchange for honest review. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this novel.*



Hello, Feaders!

I’m been in revising my blog lately so I’m busy really but I did make this review all along and I think I want it now to share it with you.

This book was given to me by Brady Stefani in exchange of my view to it. The story, by the way, was indulging to follow. Then here it is my review about it.

blurb-label

-o-

Fifteen-year-old Courtney Hoffman is determined not to go insane like her grandfather did right before he tried to drown her when she was seven.

But something is happening to her. She’s being visited in her bedroom at night by aliens who claim to have shared an alliance with her now-dead grandfather. And Courtney knows that aliens aren’t real, which means she must be going crazy. And her mother has zero tolerance for craziness.

Then Courtney meets Agatha Kirlich, a mysterious older girl with sleuthing skills and alien-obsession issues of her own. Together, armed with ancient stories of a human-alien bloodline, a few photographs, and the creepy tattoo left on Courtney’s rib cage by her grandfather, the girls embark on a mission to uncover the truth about Courtney’s alien visitors. Ultimately, Courtney must put her fears aside, defy her mother, embrace her true identity, and risk everything in order to save herself and the world.

-o-

review-label

This book is a well-crafted masterpiece by a talented author Brady Stefani who has a background on mental health issues in which he then had the idea of telling a story like this. The book is really not a hard thing to read on. Through a series of turn, every reader can easily digest it. Brady must have known his audience that he thinks of a good way of telling his tale. The mental health issues that been introduced here were relatable for the people who had experienced it and I think the author did it for a purpose so he can explicitly say what symptoms or behavior a person could have given them a hint. An awareness that they could give help and understand a person suffering with it. The person may have a conflict between the truth and reality; he might in an unstable state thus making his brain act not in its proper way. The brain is a complex machine to think about in which if not handle with the correct configuration we can’t just readjust it to its normal process.Β  Knowing this serious problem came after to one’s mind. I think that how I see it in some part of the story on how the struggles of the main character through resolving her on own self. With the help author imagination and creativity, an interesting story was born.

I kinda like how the story is going on what seems a hard time for the main character, a fifteen year old, Courtney Hoffman who deals with her mental issues that between her craziness or another world beyond; it might be an end if she fails to deal with her troubles or what she thinks delusional first or she can take a chance and save the world before it crumbles apart itself because of the upcoming apocalypse.Β  She can be the last resort and only her decision will stand.

It was a great adventure reading this book though I’m not a bit attentive from the beginning since I’m still feeling the story to just heating itself into a more interesting twist. But in the middle phase, I’m hooked to it until the last page got me into questions. This had to be a sequel. I’m sure to know since there’s still need to uncover and to tackle, not to mention on what Jorg (who just got his presence at the end) can be in the life of Courtney. Is he a threat or an asset? What about the machine? How will it help Courtney in her new introduced life as a special agent? Agatha’s character needs more brushing. Maybe Hailee has a significant contribution? And lastly, can it be that there might be a twist for Courtney’s sister, same lineage and additional plot? So many questions I had sorry for that but I know Mr. Brady has an answer in each of it. I don’t know when he will say so or announce the next thing.

I never told you which I’m in the odds in the characters. It is not Courtney if you will think so but I say it is Agatha Kirlich since I like her presence the coolness through it. Her positive vibes are what I like really with her and she is a cool dude. She is my bet all along the story. Courtney on the hand is somewhat pity in what I can say she got the worst treatment, speaking of which her relationship with her mother is such in bad shape to say. I was just in a sad way to look at her and how badly she faced it. All along that was a part of everything, needs a sort of distraction or something to fell upon.

I recommend this if you want some mental related thing and actually, this is sci-fi so related conspiracy ahead and also a fantasy, a combination should I say. Go read this now, today. Worth to waste your time actually every read is worth the time. I’m giving it a five star since I’m quite entertained and the story has its thing when you don’t expect it.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About AuthorΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 

Brady StefaniBrady Stefani

– has a bachelor’s degree in creative writing, and a graduate degree in law.

During law school, he interned with the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health, where he interacted with patients suffering from severe thought disorders, including numerous patients presenting with subjectively real memories of being visited and abducted by alien beings. It was through his study of these patients, along with his own struggles with anxiety and cognition, that Stefani became aware of just how deceiving, mysterious, and powerfully resilient the human mind can be.

In an effort to provide awareness of mental suffering, and spread hope to all those touched by it, Stefani is focused on writing YA novels that explore the experience of being different, and the other-worldly places our boundary-less imaginations can take us. Alienation is his first novel. But with two works currently in progress, the journey has just begun.

You can visit his facebook page Brady Stefani and his twitter account @BradyStefani.

More at bradystefani.com.


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β Β Β 

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

One thought on “[Review] The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman by Brady Stefani

  1. […] Joel @ Descendant of Poseidon Reads […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

