[Review] The Grown Up by Gillian Flynn

Book Review (TGUGF) Photo - New

goodreads-button



Hello, Feaders!

It is March! Woah, that’s swift.

Been busy recently and school is always messing around but I handle everything from it.

Anyway, I’m going to review today this book of Gillian Flynn entitled, The Grown Up. This was my first book of Gillian and I was really interested to read some more of her works.

blurb-label

-o-

‘I watched the house. It watched me back through long, baleful windows so tall a child could stand in the sill. And one was. I could see the length of his thin body: gray trousers, black sweater, a maroon tie perfectly knotted at the neck. A thicket of dark hair covering his eyes…’

A young woman is making a living faking it as a cut-price psychic (with some illegal soft-core sex work on the side). She makes a decent wage mostly by telling people what they want to hear. But then she meets Susan Burke.

Susan moved to the city one year ago with her husband and 15-year-old stepson Miles. They live in a modern Victorian house called Carterhook Manor. Susan has become convinced that some malevolent spirit is inhabiting their home. The young woman doesn’t believe in exorcism or the supernatural. However, when she enters the house for the first time, she begins to feel it too, as if the very house is watching her, waiting, biding its time…

-o-

review-label

This is my first Gillian book to read and honestly, I like the style of hers which I do think to have some more of her books. Though The Grown Up was a very short book with 67 pages, the ending was just not what I expect maybe because I haven’t read her previous book which been having some buzz and I also know that some of it were adapted into movies. Woah, that was good. Anyway, I finished reading this in one sitting and really quite thrilled about this. Just you know the end part. It was like just kind of a play. And I was really perplexed but I move on to that. I also figured out how come the title, when at first paragraph no sign I can connect it after the last that I was ‘Aaahh’.

So, the book was great and I was planning to read more of Gillian books starting with Gone Girl. See how I can love every book of hers. With thrills and suspense, this is a match for you. Also for fast reading.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About AuthorΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 

gillian-flynnGillian Flynn

is an American author and television critic for Entertainment Weekly. She has so far written three novels, Sharp Objects, for which she won the 2007 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the best thriller; Dark Places; and her best-selling third novel Gone Girl.

Her book has received wide praise, including from authors such as Stephen King. The dark plot revolves around a serial killer in a Missouri town, and the reporter who has returned from Chicago to cover the event. Themes include dysfunctional families, violence and self-harm.

In 2007 the novel was shortlisted for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar for Best First Novel by an American Writer, Crime Writers’ Association Duncan Lawrie, CWA New Blood, and Ian Fleming Steel Daggers, winning in the last two categories.

Flynn, who lives in Chicago, grew up in Kansas City, Missouri. She graduated from the University of Kansas and qualified for a Master’s degree from Northwestern University.

More at gillian-flynn.com


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β Β Β 

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

2 thoughts on “[Review] The Grown Up by Gillian Flynn

  1. I’ve not heard of this author, but I def. think I need to check out her work! Thanks for the info, Joel!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

