[Review] Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

Book Review (BDMM) Photo - New

goodreads-button

Disclosure: *I received an ARC of this book for free from the author itself in exchange for honest review. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this novel.*



Hello, Feaders!

Happy Valentines Day

Love is in the air even I’m single which I love being single :). Chocolates, bouquet of flowers and love cards are roaming around every street obviously it is because of this event. At that point I’m not bitter seeing people with their gf’s/bf’s on the other side I’m happy for them (sarcasm-ly not lol).

Anyway, I’ve been busy these past few days but honestly, I’m reading slump which I just finished this book that been published a day passed. This is really a great one though and can’t wait to tell you about it.

So let’s begin.

blurb-label

-o-

The end of an Empire, The rise of a Queen

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life.

That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and upon Emory’s arrival she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.

-o-

review-label

Black Dawn is a YA Fantasy debut novel by Mallory McCartney. Every character was a masterpiece and uniquely crafted in each of their roles. I just can’t get over some of them like Adair who is a badass in the whole story being the evil that was a traitor in their own land, Kiero, where people like them exist that have extraordinary power. Talking about their powers, I like the side of Brokk with his shifting ability and to control the time that can travel to other dimensions. Isn’t a cool power to have? Also, Emory, I like hers too though I see a weakness in her ability like it effectively working when she is in contact with the other party. Likewise, she is just an ordinary.

Through the course of my read and honestly, at the beginning I’m still confused on what’s going on but as I continue the story just became clear. I kinda like really how the story go. I’m just having some thoughts on some event like the part of what happened in Brokk. It was a scene I want to be clear about hoping for the second installment of this book to be tackle and seriously, this needs some more in the sequel, more explanation, to mysteries and back story of some character like Memphis and Brook whom I’m curious they still need some explaining. The story also is in multiple POV which is just ok for me since I like to also be not just in one character and I see the connection in every of the character.

In general, the book is an interesting and entertaining creative story. I can’t wait to see and read the next 2nd book of this. Worth to share to all of you if you like X-men (I just imagine it was similar to it), shifter and extraordinary power. Also if you’re fantasy lover.

Grab this now since it was freshly published.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About AuthorΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 

mallory-mccartneyMallory McCartney

currently lives in London, Ontario with her husband and their two dachshunds Link and Lola.

Black Dawn is her debut novel, the first in a series. When she isn’t working on her next novel or reading, she can be found dog grooming, book shopping and hiking. Other favorite pastimes involve reorganizing perpetually overflowing bookshelves and seeking out new coffee and dessert shops.

More at her author page @ Facebook here. Also her Instagram @authormalmccartney


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β Β Β 

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

2 thoughts on “[Review] Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

  1. […] Joel @ Descendant of Poseidon Reads […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

