[Review] The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Book Review (TSIAAS) Photo - New

goodreads-button



Hello, Feaders!

A sad and gloomy day here. I think, we’re be getting hit by a super typhoon named here as Nina. Please pray for us (seriously). I hope our country don’t get as much as damage or nothing at all.

Anyway, I will still be reviewing this book of Nicola Yoon, The Sun Is Also A Star. And I’m so happy that in my twitter account this day, she tweet me back (I was just so shocked about it since I think an author might just have so little time for her followers and I’m glad she makes some interest on my tweet).

blurb-label

-o-

Natasha:

I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel:

I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in storeβ€”for both of us.

The Universe:

Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

-o-

review-label

Reading the book reminds me of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell [<<< click for my review of it]. Same issues are tackled about diversity, racism, and different culture. I like it how the story felt connected to me somehow. The story is unique in its own way of telling the love we don’t expect to see that the universes or multiverse take part.

It was written well and has multiple POV which doesn’t only center on the main characters (Natasha and Daniel) but every person (their family, lawyer even just the minor people, usually guard) they encounter and make a connection to their one-day love story. That style I love it. Is this a coincidence I see every book that looks like this I read (E&P is POV which looks like this minus the other minor POV).

Every quote were relatable and make a mark to my heart. It was just perfect and soothing to think and share with your friends on social medias (especially on Facebook). Words were collected and group into a perfect line to suffice your poetic heart. The quotes you can’t think of in exact way the book has. I’m very thankful I really read this book before the end of the year.

And for the characters, I really like both of them. Natasha, an American-Jamaican girl who is a science geek/music lover that believes science can prove everything even the love that she realizes she’s been feeling the moment she met him, Daniel. Daniel, an American-Korean boy who is the second son that obeys his parents in everything just to make a better of himself to them but unexpected happen that the universe takes part to which he met this girl that changes everything even the choice of career his parents choose for him. Both really get my interest and I like the parts which they think of a something (actually by answering each of the ten questions) and give their own views and opinions. On Natasha, I love how she handle to prove every answer obviously by facts and with science. Daniel, on the other hand, thinks to bat in his concerns and that’s how I like on their sweet (give and take) quarrel.

I think I just love this book just how I love the book of Rainbow Rowell. This will be in addition to my favorites (book and author). I will read soon another book of her, especially Everything, Everything. Happy Reading!

my-rating-label

rate-5

About AuthorΒ Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β 

nicola-yoonNicola Yoon

is the number one New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.

She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her family. She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.

More at her author page, www.nicolayoon.com and her Twitter, @NicolaYoon.


Thank you for reading!

img_1615

Check Me Out Here Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β Β Β 

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

Save

Leave a Reply

