[Review] Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Book Review (MPHFPC) Photo - New

goodreads-button



Hello again fellas, so as I said I will be going to start my review as of today although I said maybe next week, I was just as eager to start my blog. Anyway, I also mention about the book from Ransom Riggs, which is his first novel – as the heading says its name. This book is my first read in May so it going to be ok.

blurb-label

-o-

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

-o-

review-label

At first glance of the book I was thrilled, it is as if possessed (as you see from the cover which is also creepy at some angle). I also make some expectations with the book. First one. It must give some chill and goosebumps – I think since with my first impressions with the book it will somehow do. Second. It will be a nice trip – I was thinking of the cover photo, it was vintage and black and white, combined the two, it was great history to know. Third and Last. This will make me awake all night – in some books that I’ve read if it catches my appetite, I will devour it all night.

By the way, I didn’t look for some reviews with regards to it, I directly think of my way of knowing it by myself. Some imaginable ideas to think a lot about it.

So I made my expectations, what I got:

As I start my readings, I didn’t see some connections first to the title which can trigger me on the plot itself, which is not predictable and it was told on a first persona. The main character, Jacob Portman, was as if me and I feel it. This is good to know. It means I am hooked with the main persona. I like this type of presentation, you as if the one in the book. I like Jacob as the main character even though, he lacks confidence and interactive skills (from the start) that he has only one friend and only when it has exchanged for that friendship. At the end he encounters some new friends with many absurd talents, later on, he finds out – he has one unique talent, other than his grandfather and it’s very important to them. I like his dialogues – funny and frank with regards to his feelings. So much for that – I will rather say I was now thrilled in this book. My expectations in this book are overlapped. It just not disappoints me but gives me creeps (the photos are deceivingly real to be said as fake ‘but I knew it was fabricated somehow’).

As I knew it will give me some glimpse of history just like what happens in September 3, 1940 – which I think the reigns of Adolf Hitler, maybe that year, I just guess or not ‘cause there’s a word Holocaust which sure I know happen in the period of Adolf Hitler ‘I knew it and I based my assumption with my past readings, Diary of Anne Frank helps also’. I didn’t expect it coming, though, that will the help of the loop you will be transported into another time frame and it was in the past with war still ongoing and the bombs are falling everywhere. (I don’t want to spoil so I just limit the situation) I was amazed also for each new character that sprang from the pages and introducing their self and what they can do, that can affect the main character motives, beliefs, and state of mind.

This book always tired me and exhausted me since I read this for four days straight ‘til the day comes. I will never do this again though as the school starting to make it sickening presence. But I will try to finish this trilogy; I know it was just three as the series says.

All I can say to this first installment of the trilogy is a 5-star effect not it caught me but exceeds my expectations. Can’t wait to read the next book for this. ‘Til next time.

There will be an adaptation to this and it will be going to release in this coming September 23. I’m sure to watch it and can’t wait for it, though I had some dislikes to the characters since they add two, the twin which is not registered in the book. The abilities of the character, I was confused in the movie is it Emma who is flying?? I think Olive is the one who is flying?? I’m really confused. But no matter what I still on the go for the movie. See yeah for that.

my-rating-label

rate-5

About Author             

riggs_photo_frame2.pngHi, I’m Ransom Riggs, and I like to tell stories.

Sometimes I tell them with words, sometimes with pictures, often with both.

I grew up on a farm on the Eastern shore of Maryland and also in a little house by the beach in Englewood, Florida where I got very tan and swam every day until I became half fish.

I started writing stories when I was young, on an old typewriter that jammed and longhand on legal pads.

When I was a little older I got a camera for Christmas and became obsessed with photography, and when I was a little older still my friends and I came into possession of a half-broken video camera and began to make our own movies, starring ourselves, using our bedrooms and backyards for sets.

I have loved writing stories and taking photographs and making movies ever since, and have endeavored to do all three.

More at ransomriggs.com.


Thanks Buddies for reading, hope you enjoy my very first review.

img_1615

Check Me Out Here                                     

mini goodreads

mini instagram1

mini twitter

mini facebook

Leave a Reply

